Add some colour to your life this Fall

I love to do the grocery shopping.  I know.  Most think I’m crazy.

Mental state aside, today I was doing some grocery shopping because it’s been far too long since I have.  In our house, fruit fills more of our basket than any other grocery category.  Sadly, despite the abundance of home grown vegetables we receive, we never seem to receive offers of fruit so the grocery is our only option.

If it’s grown in Ontario, I buy only the Ontario grown fruits and vegetables.  If it’s not in season, we don’t buy  it.  This is a personal choice and it’s not always easy to live with but I feel the benefits outweigh the negatives.  (improves local economy, shorter trucking distance is better for our environment, picked later so more nutritional value, fresher so quality is higher, and finally, I know Ontario’s regulations for farm pesticides/herbicides, etc but I don’t know anything about foreign policies on this subject and am not willing to risk it)

Of course, only buying Ontario produce means I need to have a great understanding of what is in season and when.  My computer [brain] has a whole lotta data in it, but for some reason I just can’t keep this straight.  So I rely on the Foodland Ontario availability guide.

If you’ve never visited the Foodland Ontario website, I would encourage you to do it.  It’s full of recipes and shopping guides that are very helpful.  I don’t think they have an phone app yet, but I’m sure one will come out.  It sure would be nice to have a handy guide for picking the best watermelon  while I’m standing in the produce aisle.  I can never remember when I’m looking at the pile.

Now, I’ve always considered September the month of the APPLE and I need no guide to tell me which ones are best.  Since I was very young, our family has built a tradition of picking a few bushels of our own every year.  But we still have lots of great fruit still in season from summer and they could last another month if the frost stays at bay:

  • Blueberries (season is just ending but northern ones are perfect right now)
  • Grapes (notice they are on sale almost everywhere right now?!)
  • Peaches and Nectarines (the season is ending, but you can still find good ones out there)
  • Raspberries (though personally, I think the season is over as I see only mushy ones out there)
  • Watermelon
  • Plums (until October)

And then my faves are all just coming into season now:

  • APPLES, APPLES, and more APPLES : did you know there are more than 7,000 species of apples in the world?  There are over 100 species here in Ontario.  Surely even the pickiest eater can find at least ONE they like!
  • PEARS
  • Muskmelon (like little watermelons, so cute)
  • Pumpkin (perhaps technically a squash, but I made desserts with it so I’m including it)
  • Crabapples (fabulous jelly)

So add some colour to your life this September.  Remember, the less processed your food is, the more it does for your internal process!

Keep experimenting:  Danielle

Leave a Reply

